When Does The Pain Go Away

Hello friends been weeks since I have been here.
Hope we have all been OK
I swear things happen so quick and one can’t catch up but I try.
Recently I have been trying to be social and do normal things, but I find somethings really hard and they come easily. I have met some nice people and believe me I don’t talk about my son to them because I don’t think people really understand what we go through I mean who can if you don’t live with Autism.
Last week I was off work for 3 days and that was fun, I got to be alone in the house and sleep during the day Wow! There was some drinking of wine as well.
Things were OK until Friday afternoon when I was preparing for Doc Notes for an appointment on Saturday, I was going through these notes realising that things weren’t getting better with my son at all,  I think he is regressing a lot,his father and I are OK about Autism and he has even started talking about it now and advocating for him very nice I know.
I mean there were goals that were set from the previous appointment but that’s not happening, he has stopped saying some words, using some signs has stopped as well.
We still potty training, number 1 has been mastered but number 2 is a challenge.
Saturday came and I was nervous,and from the time we went into the rooms little man wasn’t behaving at all,  he was screaming and the Doctor in the other room was hearing all that and he said it’s normal for them, he asked if he is like this at home and I said at home he is calm, he minds his business and we don’t bother him.
I think he finally saw his true colors and he was surprised as well.
I love how honest and reassuring the doc is he kept saying it’s normal for them to regress and you just at have to be there as a parent and be realistic about his condition, that’s when it hurt.
I mean I’m his mother for sure I will dream about my son doing things his age.
He did suggest more time in therapy and that costs a lot
I mean when does it stop, I held my tears and I was absorbing all what this doctor was saying.
In the end he said,  I know how hard this is and I said you have no idea Doctor, this is our lives.
When I got home I sent an email to say I was sorry for saying that.

This hurts a lot,  when does it stop.

Leave a comment